good bye Dominion, never a good buy

October 8, 2008

 
The store formally known as “Dominion” is now called “METRO”. Why and how it occurred, I’m not certain nor do i care (though, i imagine it was some kind of buy-out or take-over). Either way, can I just say, “GOOD! And good riddance”.
Sure living 500m from a 24-hour Dominion is very convenient, especially given my recent living situation in Hyde Park, Chicago, where the only decently stocked store closed down for months! It’s replacement is just as expensive and still, only open until about 10pm.
But before I took a leave of absense to Chicago, shopping at Dominion used to irk me to no end. Everything I went in there, it was like an unfair trade between the convenient location and store hours in exchange for an expensive and limited selection of grocery items. The bright and shiny store sold stuff that just did not satisfy the foodie in me. I mean, duh, thanks for the choice of “red” potatoes at $1.79/lb vs. “white” potatoes at $1.59/lb… Where am I (I can only think of some lonesome gas station store near a camp ground that hikes up its prices because it can)? And the organic section? I don’t want your pre-cut & pre-packaged white button mushrooms at 4.99/6oz! (I miss Hyde Park Produce and farmers’ markets).
Metro? I returned and didn’t even notice the new signage at first, just more stuff. It’s still expensive yes, but at least the selection has expanded extensively, including better bakery breads, decent store-brand items, and a wider choice of everything else. I like that I don’t have to pick from crappy brand A and crappy brand B for things like soy sauce… I’d rather spend the money and get a brand not specifically market to North America (read: overly sweet, salty, and/or fatty) and save the trip to TnT (which I enjoy but there’s perils of shopping there too).
Leave a Reply

